PRESS NOTE

The Prize Distribution Function of the 52nd Youth Parliament Competition, 2017-18 for the schools under the Directorate of Education, Govt. of NCT of Delhi and NDMC was held at 3.00 p.m. on Tuesday, the 23rd of October, 2018 in GMC Balayogi Auditorium, Parliament Library Building, New Delhi.

- 2. Prof. Ramesh Chand, Member NITI Aayog was the Chief Guest of the function. Shri B. S. Bhati, member NDMC was the guest of honor at the function The prizes were distributed to the prize-winning schools and students for their meritorious performance.
- 3. **Bharti Public School, Swasthya Vihar** Delhi, for standing first in the Competition, received the "Pandit Motilal Nehru Running Parliamentary Shield". Following eight schools, for their meritorious performance in the competition, were awarded Merit trophies:-
 - 1 RPVV NAI BASTI KISHAN GANJ, DELHI
 - 2 DTEA, SSS, LAXMIBAI NAGAR, NEW DELHI
 - 3 HAPPY SCHOOL, PADAM CHAND MARG, DARYAGANJ, NEW DELHI
 - 4 RUKMANI DEVI PUBLIC SCHOOL, CD BLOCK PITAMPURA, DELHI
 - 5 SB MILLS SR. SEC. SCHOOL, SHIVAJI MARG, KARAMPURA, DELHI
 - 6 VISHAL BHARTI PUBLIC SCHOOL, PASCHIM VIHAR, NEW DELHI
 - 7 SV JAFFARPUR KALAN, NEW DELHI
 - 8 GOVT. CO-ED SSS, SECTOR 2, DWARKA, NEW DELHI
- 4. From a humble beginning in 1966 when the first Competition was organized in 16 schools of the Delhi Administration, by the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, the Youth Parliament Scheme now covers 1200 schools in NCT of Delhi, 1200 Kendriya Vidyalayas, 600 Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas and 300 Universities/Colleges throughout the country.
- 5. The Youth Parliament Scheme aims at familiarizing the students with the practice and procedures of Parliament, techniques of discussion and debate and develop in them leadership qualities, the spirit of self-discipline and tolerance of diverse opinions and healthy competition— all of which are the hallmark of a democracy.